Monday, December 6, 2010

DoFollow

DoFollow

DoFollow is a plug-in word. it will disables the no follow links. And DoFollow is considered now a great way to encourage comments and attract visitors.


It will disable the automatic rel="nofollow" attributes added to external links. You can desire to do this if you have good spam filtering for your comments, or if your blog is moderated.


Optionally you can also set a comment age boundary for adding the attributes, or have them removed another way from comments left by registered users and other visitors.

Pingbacks and trackbacks are just dissimilar types of comments in Word Press. This plug-in will get care of all of them. You can also choose not to remove rel="nofollow" from some types of comments.

Download dofollow.php and save it in the wp-content/plugins directory of your WordPress installation. Activate the DoFollow plugin in the Plugins admin page.

Once activated, the plugin provides a DoFollow subpage in the Options page. It will show you the current operating mode in addition to the configuration options.more info

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

code.google.com: Controlling Crawling and Indexing

Controlling Crawling and Indexing



This methods automated website crawlers are powerful tools to help crawl and index content on the web. As a webmaster, you may wish to guide them towards your helpful content and absent from irrelevant content. Described in these documents are the de-facto web-wide standards to control crawling and indexing of web-based content. They consist of the robots.txt file to control crawling, as well as the robots Meta tag and X-Robots-Tag HTTP header element to control indexing. The robots.txt standard predates Google and is the accepted method of controlling crawling of a website.

This document represents the current usage of the robots.txt web-crawler control information as well as indexing directives as they are used at Google. This information is generally supported by all major web-crawlers and search engines.more...

Sunday, November 28, 2010

Google Voice Local Search

Finally Google lab lunching a services a google voice local search

Google Voice Local Search lets you search for local businesses from any phone and for free. If you're in the US, call 1-800-GOOG-411 and say what you want to find. Here are some of the features:
In the US, 411 is the phone number for local directory assistance, but it's pretty expensive (more than $1). 1-800-FREE-411 is a free service that uses speech recognition to process your request and ads to monetize it.

  1. Voice Search - search Google by speaking instead of typing.
  2. Voice Input - fill in any text field on Android by speaking instead of typing.
  3. Voice Actions - control your Android phone with voice commands. For example, you can call any business quickly and easily just by saying its name.

Benefit seo

Benefit seo
Search engine optimization (SEO) used for promoting your business on the internet; one must knows the ultimate benefits of seo promotion.


standpoint (Global / Regional)
Selecting your keywords or phrases to target your viewers, search engine optimization ensures that you and your company are establish worldwide or regionally by those who require exactly what you offer. SEO has many benefits for any organization which wants to reach all potential customers locally or globally. You can reach the targeted customers of your own choice.



Targeted Traffic
Search engine optimization promotion can enhance the number of visitors for your website for the targeted keywords or phrase. Converting those visitors into potential customers is one of the arts of search engine optimization. Search engine optimization is the only campaign which can derive targeted traffic through your website. Essentially more targeted traffic equal more sales.



Enhance Visibility
once a website has been optimized, it will enhance the visibility of your website in search engines. More people will visit your website and it will give international recognition to your products/services.



High ROI (Return on Investment)
An effective SEO campaign can bring a higher return on your investment than any other type of marketing for your company. This will therefore increase your volume of sales and profit overall.



Extended term positioning
once a website obtains position through a SEO promotion; it should stay there for long term as opposed to PPC (Pay per Click). SEO is a cheaper and long term solution than any other search engine marketing strategy.



Cost-effective
One of the great benefits of search engine optimization is that it is cost effective and requires the minimum amount of capital for the maximum exposure of your website.



Flexibility
It is possible to reach an audience of your own choice through a seo campaign. You can get traffic according to the organizational strategy to meet the needs and requirements of your choice.



calculable results
It is a unique quality of seo campaigns that you can quantify the results of seo by positioning reports of search engines, visitor conversion and the other factors of this nature.


Saturday, November 27, 2010

SEO Tips 2011

SEO Tips for 2011 


Naming Conventions – Use proper naming conventions (subject or keyword first, then plural variation, modifier, then tag line).
  • Here is a more useful post about how to use Meta titles, descriptions and naming conventions, but the gist is simple. Create a hierarchy based on a relevant platform of topically reinforcing semantics using keyword clusters and related synonyms to toggle relevance from what search engines deem as the co-occurrence matrix.
Canonical Issues - verify canonical issues to make definite there is a preferred default page or domain preference (http:// or www).
  • No reason to have 3 variations of a home page .html, .php and default.htm, depending on your programming platform, server settings (Unix or Windows) as well as if you are using static pages or a content management system you will need to consolidate your website to either http:// or http://www to avoid splitting your site into less potent slivers.
Indexation and Crawl Frequency – See how many pages are crawled in a site to determine crawl frequency.
  • If you have a home page that is crawled regularly and your internal pages are ignored, then this is often a result of lack of internal or external links.
  • You can implement sitemaps on a folder by folder basis, then link from the footer in a site template to a maser sitemap page (where all the mini sitemaps are linked to) to increase indexation. This way the link from the footer consolidates the ranking factor to one page and THAT page feeds the various site maps equivocally (through a tiered drip-down site architecture effect).
Orphaned Pages and Dead Ends – verify for orphaned pages to determine if pages are linked suitably to ensure crawling.
  • If you have a page or sub folder in a website that is only linked to from a few pages, then you cannot possibly expect that page to rank well in search engines. If you yourself will not “endorse” a page by linking to it properly (contextually from keywords in the body copy) or from the primary or secondary navigation, then you cannot possibly expect search engines to pay that page with any more credence than yourself.
  • Also be weary of PDF files (which can rank on their own and sponge link flow from your website). Make sure PDF files have absolute links (use the complete URL) back to your site, so they do not pool ranking factor and trap it where the rest of your site cannot benefit.
Dynamic URL’s – If pages are dynamically created, try to remove or rewrite as many parameters in the URL as possible or use URL / Mod rewrite.
  • Any time you have session data or query string parameters in a URL, you are decreasing the possibility of indexation. Particularly if there are conventions such as? PID=23D-55.aspx trailing along, when a SEO friendly naming convention could have taken its place with a bit of programming. You can rewrite entire segments, sub folders, categories, etc. without losing functionality or compromising SEO value.
Manage Outbound Links - Try to cap outbound links per page to fewer than 50 links for larger pages (10 for top level pages that need more ranking factor).
  • The more links that leave a page, the less ranking factor the elements on that page have as equity. The only instance when this is not a concern is if the page itself is augmented from other strong internal pages or have strong inbound links from other sites to offset the hemorrhaging effects of excessive links leaving a page.
Footer / Site wide Links - Use footer links sparingly by tactfully to tie site segments together.
  • Footer links still work (using 5-10 keyword-rich text links at the bottom of a page), but that can also diffuse the intent of pages that do not have enough content to distinguish themselves from other pages. If a page in a site does not have more than 300 unique words on that page, it can lose relevance as the navigation and other code structures collapse and all interject their shingles to offset or diffuse the pages unique purpose and optimal continuity.
  • For example if you have a page that is only a paragraph or two and you expect that page to rank for specific keywords, your navigation alone may trump the relevance for that page. Check your cached pages in text view to see how search engines view your code and your content without style sheets or java script.
  • Footer links can help brings balance to pages with less content, but uses them on pages with enough content to weather their contribution.
Broken Links – Check for broken links which could be hemorrhaging link flow and weakening a site from within.
  • Broken links irritate search engine spiders, and when they cannot connect the dots, your sites rankings suffer. If you are using WordPress our plug-in SEO Ultimate features a 404 monitor that sweeps the site for broken links which you can find and eliminate.
Alt Attributes in Images – Use alt attributes on images to preserve content integrity while providing internal links for ranking factor.
  • Using the alt attribute in images allows you to reinforce topical relevance with the on page text based content to improve a pages relevance score.
Anchor Text Optimization – Use pertinent anchor text and do not waste link equity from excessively linking to non reciprocating pages within a site.
  • Employing anchor text optimization means using relevant keywords to link to relevant pages within a site. Do this enough and before you know it you are virtual theming (which means creating a secondary navigation contextually through keyword co-occurrence).
  • This alone can distinguish your site from competitors as each granular layer consolidates ranking factor for a website. This alone is one reason why Wikipedia dominates search results, due to virtual theming.
Flattening Site Architecture – Keep site architecture as flat as possible or use breadcrumbs to aid in information architecture and crawling.
  • Avoid using sub folders excessively within a website domain.com/categories/products/color/page.html vs. flattening the url and site by using more descriptive naming conventions for a page domain.com/electronics-black-sports-watch.html
  • The closer the more competitive keyword landing pages are to the root folder, the easier it will be for them to gain additional ranking factor, page rank and page strength to express the content on that page.
Content Volume - Ensure you have enough content to topple a competitive keyword.
  • Trying to rank for a keyword with 5 million competing pages with a handful of content is an exercise in futility. You will need topical relevance which means articles, posts or pages all internally linked and consolidated to create the proper on page signals for that keyword.
  • For every keyword, there is a relevance threshold and tipping point, you will need to offset competitors by having more on page affluence as well as off page peer review (links from other authorities). However, in either case, content is a requirement.
Contextual Links – Link contextually within related document to select preferred landing pages through virtual theming.
  • The premise is simple, if you are on a page about engines, and have a keyword pistons appear, and then link the keyword pistons to the piston page. Do this for every keyword (only once per page if it appears more than that) and you have just added a virtual theme to your keywords. This means that each page can now work together collectively to support the parent theme (which is the main/root keyword itself).
Meta Tags - For larger sites, exclude Meta descriptions but for smaller sites, use the Meta data as an extra title or place for alternative keywords.
  • Always use a succinct and relevant title, but if you have multiple pages on a topic, then let search engines decide which keywords are more prominent and relevant by excluding the Meta description / snippet from the page.
  • Also make sure that if you are using a content management system that your pages do not all share a common, generic Meta title or description as a default. This is the fastest way to shoot down rankings in a site (lack of character).
Deep Links – Get at least 5-10 inbound links to each page via deep links from other sites in order to create buoyancy.
  • A page without links either from the site itself, or other sites is a page that has little value to readers or search engines. Popularity matters and for the millions of site owners who may or may not be aware of this simple fact, you MUST have deep links to a page if you want that page to exceed standard normalization.
  • A website replete with deep links (links to other pages other than the homepage) will start to have those individual pages rank and appear for multiple keywords. Not only does this create a more robust user experience, but the dependency for your rankings is not tied to an off topic or generic page like the homepage.
  • The take away here is, get at least 5-10 inbound links to each page minimum (if that page is expected to gain traction) otherwise, link to another page that is the preferred landing page and get deep links to it.
Keyword Stemming - Link to a page with multiple anchors (to create keyword stemming) and with” exact match” keywords to elevate just that term.
  • You can control how each page in your website ranks by being mindful about internal and external lining habits. This post called SEO Rankings and How to Create Them provides a masterful breakdown of this process.
RSS Feed Syndication - Set up multiple RSS feeds within a site to syndicate your content to attract natural back links from other sites.
  • A proper RSS campaign alone can build sufficient links for your website. Combined with a content development strategy and time-released topical content, this alone can drive traffic and increase domain authority to produce rankings and relevance in even the most competitive vertical markets. This post SEO, RSS and the Power of Syndication provides SEO techniques and tactics for RSS feeds and RSS aggregation.
Sub Domains – Despite abuse in the past, sub domains still work.
  • If your website is sagging under its own weight, then segment a new section of the site with a sub domain to emphasize topical content or to topple a competitive keyword vertical.
  • Search engines pay particular attention to keywords in the URL and while you cannot always make the best of a bad situation, sometimes you can create islands of relevance using a keyword rich sub domain to augment your existing website to create a new beacon of relevance.
  • Here is a post on which is better for SEO, subdomains or subfolders. The choice ultimately is up to you, or even using a combination of both is entirely relevant. Site architecture must work in tandem with content, links and conversion. All are mere pieces of the puzzle until consolidated
Trust Rank – Linking from aged pages can pass along trust to new landing pages or sub folders or sub domains. Don’t look past your own site for ranking factor.
  • Passing along trust rank can save you months of waiting for search results to mature from fresh content. Here is a post that shows you how to identify and link from older more relevant pages to new pages to augment rankings and more importantly, trust. This method is designed to augment on page SEO and consolidate ranking factor from all pages to the new preferred landing page.
Sitemaps – Use sitemaps to not only tie the site together, but also as a way to nourish pages like an irrigation system through linking to them.
  • Here are a few other useful SEO tips you can use in addition to using sitemaps to improve rankings.

Friday, November 26, 2010

Google URL Shorter

Google URL Shorter

Shorter URL introducing by Google website http://goo.gl/ has added another service to its swiftly increasing range. With its new goo.gl site, Google joins the likes of bit.ly and tinyurl.com in enabling internet users to shorten long web addresses into more manageable, bite-size links.

The demand for link shortening services has increased very much in recent years, as users of social networks such as Twitter and Facebook look to realize ways of sharing links as quickly and in brief as possible.

Google’s URL shortening tool transforms long links into the much shorter http://goo.gl/, followed by a unique mixture made up of four letters as well as numbers.



Even as the popularity of goo.gl remains to be seen, the service could have a constructive effect on search engine optimisation. Social networking and SEO are becoming more and more intertwined, so any service that enables quicker and easier link sharing via social platforms is likely to benefit SEO campaigns.


Google website Goo.gl currently consists of just a text box and a click button marked ‘Shorten’.Google software engineer Muthu Muthusrinivasan stated that the beauty of the service lies in its very simplicity.He also added that Google didnt plan to overload goo.gl with features, but that they wanted  it to be the stablest, most protected, and quickest URL shortner on the web.

click here to try http://goo.gl/

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Firefox add-ons Top 20 for SEO and Webmasters

Firefox add-ons Top 20 for SEO and Webmasters
Mozilla Firefox is attractive common used browser among other top browser like Google chrome, internet explorer, and safari. Still no can beat Firefox due to easy to customize, speedy and security features. Today I m going to demonstrate about customizing Firefox using add-ons especially for web master.
  1. SEO for Firefox – SEO for Firefox is a Pretty common add-ons used by webmaster which adds many search engine optimization data points into Google’s SERPs and Yahoo’s SERPs like age of site, Alexa rank, yahoo .edu and .gov links, dmoz listing and who Is data.
  2. Rank Checker – It’s another pretty good add-ons for checking keyword rankings. You can check rankings, schedule a ranking report and lot more things you can do with this tool. You can also check rankings for Google (Almost country covers), Yahoo! And LIVE.
  3. Google Toolbar – Google Toolbar is widely used by webmasters. We all know functionality of Google toolbar.
  4. Echofone – This plug-in Echofon adds a tiny status bar icon that notifies you when your friends post tweets. You can also manage couple of twitter account simultaneously. You can easily do retweet, post a tweet and send a direct message at your connivance.
  5. All in One Side Bar – This plug-in is handy and fully customizable toolbar at the left side of the browser. You can easily navigate open Bookmarks, History, Downloads, Add-ons, Page Info, Page Source, and Error Console in the sidebar
  6. SpeedyFox – SpeedyFox is helping in speed-up browsing history, boosting Firefox speed in just single click!
  7. Inform Enter - This plug in is very helpful while filling up details in web forms. For webmasters this plug-in is also helpful to fill up a submission details.
  8. Customized Google - CustomizeGoogle helps to enhance Google search experience by adding extra information like add position counter and add favicon. With this plug-in you can also eliminate unnecessary information like ads.
  9. GreaseMonkey – This plug-in allows you to customize a webpage display just by adding little code of JavaScript. You can use your own scripts or available JavaScript on the web for customization.
  10. Firebug – With the help of Firebug you can edit, debug, and monitor CSS, HTML, and JavaScript live in any web page while you browse.
  11. Web Developer - This plug-in adds a menu and a toolbar with various web developer tools.
  12. WebMail Notifier - WebMail Notifier helps you to manage multiple email accounts at the same time. It notifies number of unread emails. It supports Gmail, yahoo, hotmail and many more.
  13. FireFtp -  FireFTP is a secure, cross-platform FTP client for Mozilla Firefox which provides easy and intuitive access to FTP servers. You can get quickly access for uploading or downloading data within your browser.
  14. Shareaholic - Shareaholic helps to make sharing online faster & easier and it will enhance your productivity. This plug-in are working with 60+ services including Twitter, Facebook, Google Gmail, Delicious, Linked In, etc.
  15. KeywordSpy - This plug-in allows you to do competitive research for SEO/ PPC campaigns within browser. This plug-in has 3 main functional bar SEO Status Bar, Attribute Bar & PPC Keyword Research.
  16. ShowIp - ShowIp displays IP address and hostname information like whois, netcraft etc with single click only.
  17. Alexa Sparky- This plug-in shows Alexa Internet’s official add-on in  your status bar.
  18. Dictionary lookup – This plug-in shows the meaning of the highlighted word and displays the definition when you right click on it and select “Define”.
  19. Live Http Headers - This plug-in helps you to view HTTP headers of a page and while browsing.
  20. Google Global – Google Global permits you to view what the Google search results from different geographical locations.

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DMOZ LISTING 


DMOZ listing is a Open Directory Project is the biggest, most inclusive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained through a vast, global community of volunteer editors.

If you are looking for ahead popularity in all the major search engines, then you must put sufficient efforts to get listed in DMOZ. It is the top most directory on the web and it is most respected directory as well. All the search engines give great credit to websites listed in DMOZ. Even search engines such as Google, MSN and Yahoo value DMOZ listing. If you want to enhance your websites ranking and good traffic to your website, then submit your site to DMOZ.

Although DMOZ is a free directory, getting listed in DMOZ is not an easy task. Not all sites that are submitted to DMOZ are approved. Only websites that comply with the submission criteria 100% will be listed. We have an experienced team in DMOZ inclusion services. We will be able to help you with your DMOZ submissions.

Benefit


  1. DMOZ prioritizes quality content therefore if your website is getting the link of DMOZ then online reputation would be high
  2. it will help you identify the right categories in DMOZ for submission, which is one of the essential criteria.
  3. it will provide you with appropriate titles for your website for submission. The titles will comply with DMOZ guidelines.
  4. it will also provide you with appropriate description for submission.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Google update

1 ) Google search engine show a four paid listing over natural result :-


2 ) Google show more then eight link in result :-


3 ) Google show every webpage preview it's Google preview :-


4 )  Google show Left Hand Side Tool Bar that provide better option for searching :-


5 ) Google providing  Checkout Option in Ad-words :-


6 ) Google show Product list in Search Results :-


7 ) Google Caffeine search index box :-











Friday, November 19, 2010

sitemap

HTML Site Map

XML sitemap

http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/
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1.00


http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default
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0.80


http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/09/search-engine-optimization.html
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0.80


http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/10/on-page-seo.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/10/off-page-seo.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/10/seo-questions.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/10/seo-optimization-tips.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/11/required-field.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/11/caffeine-goole-new-search-index.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/11/google-algorithm.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/11/different-between-web-10-web-20-and-web.html
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/10/seo-optimization-tips.html?showComment=1288369265275
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http://seofreehelp.blogspot.com/2010/10/seo-optimization-tips.html?showComment=1289990526375
2010-11-20T06:14:54+00:00
0.64

Caffeine: Goole new search index

Google announce the achievement of a new web indexing system called Caffeine. Caffeine provides 50 percent fresher results for web searches than our last index, and it's the biggest collection of web content we have offered. Whether it's a news story, a blog or a forum post, you can now find links to relevant content much sooner after it is published than was possible ever before.

So why did we build a new search indexing system? Content on the web is blossoming. It's growing not just in size and numbers but with the advent of video, images, news and real-time updates, the average webpage are richer and more complex. In adding up, people's hope for search is higher than they used to be. Searchers want to find the latest relevant content and publishers expect to be found the instant they publish.

A few backgrounds for those of you who don't build search engines for a living like us: when you search Google, you're not searching the live web. Instead you're searching Google's index of the web which, like the list in the back of a book, helps you pinpoint exactly the information you need

To maintain up with the progress of the web and to meet rising user expectations, we've built Caffeine. The image below illustrate how our old indexing system worked compared to Caffeine:

Our old index had several layers, several of which were refreshed at a faster rate than others; the main layer would update every couple of weeks. To refresh a layer of the old index, we would analyze the total web, which meant there was a significant delay between when we found a page and made it available to you.

Caffeine lets us index web pages on a huge scale. In fact, every second Caffeine processes hundreds of thousands of pages in similar. If this were a pile of paper it would grow three miles taller every second. Caffeine takes up nearly 100 million gigabytes of storage in one database and adds new information at a rate of hundreds of thousands of gigabytes per day. You would need 625,000 of the largest iPods to store that much information; if these were stacked end-to-end they would go for more than 40 miles.

By Caffeine, we analyze the web in small portions and update our search index on a constant basis, worldwide. As we find new pages, or new information on existing pages, we can add these straight to the index. That means you can find fresher information than ever before — no matter when or where it was published.

more info

Google Algorithm

Google Algorithm

Google algorithm gave me the extreme idea to really attempt to write out a irregular outline of what the formula might look like. I've taken soft plus' suggestion and given it a go using a particularly basic weight/factor expression:

GoogScore = (KW Usage Score * 0.3) + (Domain Strength * 0.25) + (Inbound Link Score * 0.25) + (User Data * 0.1) + (Content Quality Score * 0.1) + (Manual Boosts) - (Automated & Manual Penalties)


Keyword Usage Factors:
  • KW in title tag
  • KW in header tags
  • KW in document text
  • KW in internal links pointing to the page
  • KW in domain and/or URL
Domain Strength
  • Registration history
  • Domain age
  • Strength of links pointing to the domain
  • Topical neighborhood of domain based on inlinks & outlinks
  • Historical use & links pattern to domain
Inbound (Back-link) Link Score
  • Age of links
  • Quality of domains sending links
  • Quality of pages sending links
  • Anchor text of links
  • Link quantity/weight metric (Pagerank or a variation)
  • Subject matter of linking pages/sites
User Data
  • Historical CTR to page in SERPs
  • Time users spend on page
  • Search requests for URL/domain
  • Historical visits/use of URL/domain by users GG can monitor (toolbar, wifi, analytics, etc.)
Content Quality Score
  • Potentially given by hand for popular queries/pages
  • Provided by Google raters (remember Henk?)
  • Machine-algos for rating text quality/readability/etc

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Different Between Web 1.0, Web 2.0 and Web 3.0

Web 1.0 Application

Web 1.0 is Shopping cart applications, which most ecommerce website owners employ in some shape or form, basically fall under the category of Web 1.0. The overall goal is to present products to potential customers, much as a catalog or a brochure does — only, with a website, you can also provide a method for anyone in the world to purchase products. The web provided a vector for exposure, and removed the geographical restrictions associated with a brick-and-mortar business.

Web 2.0 Application

Web 2.0 application .it’s " For example, the perception exists that just because a website is built using a certain technology (like Ruby on Rails), or because it employs Ajax in its interface, it is a Web 2.0 application. From the general, bird's-eye view we are taking, this is not the case; our definition simply requires that users be able to interact with one another or contribute content. Developers, for example, have a much more rigid definition of Web 2.0 than average web users, and this can lead to confusion.

Web 3.0 Application

web 3.0 application service is a software system designed to support computer-to-computer interaction over the Internet. Web services are not new and usually take the form of an Application Programming Interface (API). The popular photography-sharing website Flickr provides a web service whereby developers can programmatically interface with Flickr to search for images. Currently, thousands of web services are available. However, in the context of Web 3.0, they take center stage. By combining a semantic markup and web services, the Web 3.0 promises the potential for applications that can speak to each other directly, and for broader searches for information through simpler interfaces.

Most highly, you don't need to upgrade anything, get new software or anything like that. These are abstract ideas used to contemplate the challenges developers face on the web in addition to theories about how to address them

Thursday, October 28, 2010

SEO Optimization Tips

  1. Use important site names and page names to create “friendly” URLs.
    Think about these examples:
    http://seo.com/nodes/123
    http://seo.com/blog/sharepoint-2010-search-engine-optimization-seo-tips/
    http://seo.com/blog/sharepoint2010/seo/tips/

    Which one would be more likely to get traffic? Definitely that’s not the first one. How about the second and the third? Most of the time the second one will get more traffic, depending on the keywords. Pages with a very deep URL (sites1/sites2/sites3/sites4/page1.html) is unlikely to get a better ranking.  In SharePoint 2010, you need to carefully plan your site infrastructure and page names so it can be more meaningful to the crawlers and the users.
  2. Use Best Page Titles
    Do give the pages better title, it’s one of the important factor for search, from the query algorithm to user experience.  For example, “Untitled” “New-Page-1” does not make sense. Even if it can be shown in the result, very few people will likely to click on it. Good page title would be something like the site intro page title for example: “SharePoint is Awesome – Trainings, Demos, Hands on Labs” or a sub site page title: “SharePoint is Awesome – Search Engines Optimization Explained”.
  3. Use Accurate Meta tags
    Search Engines uses meta elements like <description> , <language> and <robots> to crawl the pages. <keywords> is no longer used. Within the three, <description> has more influence on the ranking.  You can customize these meta elements with SharePoint Designer.
  4. Use Up-to-date Sitemap.xml and Robots.txt, and even a HTML sitemap page that provides all the links.
    Sitemaps can be submitted to search engines, and they can also be picked up with the reference from Robots.txt.  For SharePoint 2010, you can use my script here:  Generate SharePoint 2010 Sitemap with Windows PowerShell to create the sitemap file. And then use Task Scheduler to run it everyday. Robots.txt can be used to point search engines to the sitemap files, and prevent some of the folders from being crawled.
  5. Use Search Engine Friendly Redirects
    Some search engines, prefer 301 (Permanent) redirects to 302 (Temporary) redirects. Out of the box SharePoint uses 302 redirects to maintain flexibility of site creations and variations.  But you can override this behavior by different methods. For example this and this are achieved by using URL Rewrite Module in IIS SEO Kit.
  6. Use Search Engine Friendly Menus and Navigations
    Use Text! Avoid from using Flash/Silverlight/Javascripts for navigation menus because they are hard to be picked up by the crawlers. If you have to use technologies for menus , provide an alternative if possible. Don’t forget accessibility is also very important, although not quite related with SEO.
  7. Use Faster Page Response Time.
    Recently Google put site speed into their ranking calculation algorithms. This is not a very important factor, but worth considering. Something can be put into consideration are caching, load balancing, network infrastructure optimization. In SharePoint 2010, Developer Dashboard is a great feature to help to analyze page loading time – for example webpart loading time.  In this way you will know if some webparts should fixed or removed.
  8. Use Better anchor text <a> for links, alt text for images.
    Anchor text can give search engines better understanding for the pages pointed to. You can take it as “another title” for the target pages. Alt text for images are also good to have.
  9. Use Always provides text based content for rich media.
    Think about a video file, a Flash/Silverlight application or a podcast on your website, how can it be indexed and showed in search result? Title and tags are important. But more importantly, you can improve the result by providing transcript to the video/audio, or text alternatives to your Flash/Silverlight applications. Certain features in Silverlight can also help. For more information on Silverlight SEO, please check http://www.silverlight.net/learn/whitepapers/seo-for-silverlight/.
  10. Use Webmaster Tools to submit sitemap, check results.
    Search Engines provide webmaster tools to help people to submit and optimize their sites.
    Bing: http://www.bing.com/webmaster
    Google: http://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/

SEO Questions

What is an SEO, SEM and how important are they for an organization? Explain briefly.
SEO stands for search engine optimisation (or optimization if you're from the States). In its simplest form SEO is the process of tailoring a website (text, titles, meta tags, alt tags, etc) so that the search engines will assign a good rank to the site for specific search terms.
But with the advent of search engines introducing fees for guaranteed inclusion in their indices, directories charging for reviews and the emergence of PPC listings, SEO now has an element of media buying mixed in. Thus, thanks to Danny Sullivan, it has now been called search engine marketing or SEM (you can still call it SEO if you want).
What do you mean by SEO?
It is a process of choosing targeted keywords and keyword phrases related to a web site so the site will rank high. And it is also marketing technique of preparing a website to enhance its chances of being ranked in the top results of a search engine once a relevant search is undertaken.
What is link Building
Link Building is the process of creating inbound links to ones own website. This can be done by reciprocal links, being listed in e-zines, newsletters, directories, search engines, etc. Link building is one of the best ways to make your site popular. There are few types of linking one of which is reciprocal links.
There are many advantages of link building.
1. Link building helps in getting quality traffic from relevant sites which increases sales.
2. Also when there will be high quality incoming links the site will also be seen as a valuable resource.
3. Link building helps in creating awarness, visibility and credibility of your site.
4. The site also obtains wider search engine exposure.
5. It also helps the website get indexed by search engines
What is Links?
In the anchortext -this is the text used to link to another URL (page or website), we use as much as possible the keywords of the page we are referring to. If possible, simply use the title of that page. Make sure that the page you are referring to contains the words that you're using in the anchor text.
Make your links meaningfull !
If you're linking from an image, then you should absolutely use the ALT tag. It always very wise to have an additional link in readable text.
Broken links should be avoided and only link to an external website if that one contains additional content or when it is usefull for your visitors.
What is TITLE tag?
The title tag is very important for a top search engine position so it deserves special attention for SEO optimization.
This tag is part of the head section of a page and will typically appear like this :
<head>
<title>your title</title>
<meta name="Description" content="your description">
</head>
Use your keyword, without repeating it over and over again, in the title tag on the indexpage and also on all other pages of your website.
Every page should have its own title that says exactly what the page is about. There is no need to include a company name. Should you include that name anyway -maybe because you like your name-, then put it at the very end of the title.
Write no more than 60 characters for this is the maximum number of characters that will be shown by Google in the returned search engine results.
The title tag must be meaningfull because it will feature in almost all search engine results. Even when you can be found at a top search engine position, your title must still be inviting to click on it and enter your Web page.
What is Meta description?
This one is also part of the head section of a page and will look like this :
<head>
<title>your title</title>
<meta name="Description" content="your description">
</head>
When looking at the source of a page, nobody will see the contents of the Meta description tag.
Still, this one deserves special attention because the description will often appear underneath the title in the search engine results.
Together with the title, it must attract visitors to click through towards your website.
Be brief, thourough and correct, and use your keyword in the description.
Concerning your homepage, a well written title and description can be used for the directory and search engine submission of a Web site.
What is Headers and subtitles <H1>,<H2>...?
The H1 and H2 tags are meant to be used as the header of the page or paragraphs. Use them for this !
The H1 tag should be the first header within the body section of your page.
Include your keyword in this tag too. The H1 tag should tell short and briefly, just like the page title, what your page is about. The contents of the title meta tag can be repeated here.
Personally, i seldom use the H2 en H3 tag and i'm in favour of other textual aspects to highlight subtitles, especially the <B> and the <FONT> tag.
Should you use the H2 tag however, then use it the right way :
• a H2 tag should follow a H1 tag.
• The tags have a larger font size to highlight the text they include. Avoid spam and keep this larger font !
What are Eye catching text effects?
By using tags such as
• <B> : bold
• <I> : Italic
• <STRONG>
• <FONT> : - especially <FONT SIZE="+n"> where n is a integer
we can point our visitors to important parts of text, and yes, search engine robots will notice this too !
Don't exagerate ! When using a bold font on almost every part of text on your page, then this will loose its eye catching effect.
Don't use these tags just to highlight your keywords. Optimize your page for your visitors. If you highlight your keyword because it might be interesting for your visitors, then this is certainly a good thing. However, doing so only for the search engines is not a good idea.
What are ALT tags?
Alt tags appear with images. This will look like this :
<img src="imagename.jpg" alt="description of the image">
The description as it appears in the ALT tag, is only visible when someone holds his mousepointer upon the image, and also when the visitor uses an images disabled browser.
So, the ALT tags are used by both a visitors and a search engine. The contents of an image can never be seen by a search engine, so we should provide alternative content.
Don't try to be deceptive when writing the content of the ALT tag and be precise. When you make your web page look more attractive by adding an image or a photo, then try to include a perfect image with an additional value to your page content. Doing so will most likely give you the opportunity to include your keyword within the description.
Should you use the image to put a link to another page, then you should use the ALT tag as if it were the anchor text of a text link.
Above you could already see how anchortext can help you to achieve a top search engine position.
What is RSS
RSS is a syndication methodology on the Internet.
1 RSS Stands for Really Simple Syndication.
2 RSS is used for the specific purpose or conveying information that a website or blog has been updated.
3 RSS is a standard for publishing regular updates to web-based content.
4 And for the technical, RSS is a Syndication Standard based on a type of XML file that resides on an internet server.
How Benefit of Creation of a sitemap?
We make sure that every page is maximum 2 clicks away of the entry page.
If you have deep content pages, categories, products, sub products, then a sitemap should be provided.
A sitemap is usefull for both search engines and visitors.
The number of links on a page must be limited to 100 !
What is PPC?
Ans:- Pay per click (PPC) is an Internet advertising model used on search engines, advertising networks, and content websites, such as blogs, where advertisers only pay when a user actually clicks on an advertisement to visit the advertisers' website.
What is meta tag?
Ans:- An HTML tag that identifies the contents of a Web page for the search engines. Meta tags are hidden on the page, but they, as well as all the HTML code on a page, can be viewed by selecting View/Source or View/Page Source from the browser menu. Meta tags contain a general description of the page, keywords and copyright information.
What is FTP?
Ans:- A communications protocol governing the transfer of files from one computer to another over a network.
What do you mean by Keyword density?
The ratio of the number of occurrences of a particular keyword or phrase to the total number of words in a page.
What is Keyword prominence?
How prominently keywords appear in the text of a web page. Title tags, headers, the beginning of paragraphs and hyperlinks, are just some of the places keywords should appear prominently.
What is the importance of tags?
There are six levels of headings in HTML. H1 tag is one of them and search engine spider only recognizing H1 tag.
What do you mean by page rank (PR)?
Page Rank is Goggle’s ranking software that calculates the relevance of a webpage to the search keywords entered. Google measures ranking on a scale of 0 to10.
What is a spider?
A component of a search engine that roams the Web, storing the URLs and indexing the keywords and text of each page encountered. Also referred to as a robot or crawler.
What do you mean by URL?
An acronym for "Uniform Resource Locator," this is the address of a resource on the Internet.
What is SERP’s?
It is search engine result page retrieved by search engine based on specific keyword.
What is a Mirror site?
A Web site that is a replica of an already existing site, used to reduce network traffic (hits on a server) or improve the availability of the original site. Mirror sites are useful when the original site generates too much traffic for a single server to support. Mirror sites also increase the speed with which files or Web sites can be accessed: users can download files more quickly from a server that is geographically closer to them.
What is the difference between Black hat Optimization and White hat Optimization?
The difference between black hat optimization and white hat optimization is one using unfair technique and the other one using fair technique. Black hat optimization use unethical and illegal technique and white hat optimization use fair technique to get higher search engine ranking.
What do you mean by Scooter?
AltaVista search engine’s spider.
What is Sidewinder?
The name of the Infoseek search engine’s spider.
What do you mean by Skewing?
A technique used by search engines. It refers to the practice of artificially altering the search results to certain documents will score well on certain queries.
What do you mean by Spamming?
1. Sending of unsolicited bulk electronic mail
2. Hidden text.
3. Stuffing pages, graphic images, etc. with irrelevant words.
4. Doorway pages, multiple domains or sub domains with essentially the same content.
5. Cloaking.
6. Linking to bad neighborhoods.
What is SSI?
A type of HTML command that allows webmasters to insert code from an outside HTML document. It is especially used with things like menus, headers and footers that are the same for all pages.
What is Stemming?
The use of linguistic analysis to get to the root form of a word. It reduce a search query to its stem or root form, such as past tense and plural and singular usage are taken into account when performing a search learn, it will bring learn, learning, learned etc.
What is a Stop Word?
Search engines and directories ignore certain "stop words" like single letter, two-letter and three-letter words (a, the, of, and, but). These common words do not contribute to relevancy and are not recognized in a query.
What is a Unique Visitor?
A real visitor to a Website. Web servers record the IP addresses of each visitor, and this is used to determine the number of real people who have visited a Web site. If someone visits twenty pages within your site, the server will count only one unique visitor and twenty page accesses.
What is a Virtual Server?
When a domain is hosted on a virtual server, it means that it shares that server with other domains.
What do you mean by Proximity Searching?
A feature that allows searchers to search for words that are near each other in a document.
What is CTR?
CTR stands for click thru rate, which is a percentage representing how often an ad is clicked relative to how many times it has been displayed.
The formula for click thru rate is:
    CTR = # of clicks / # of exposures
Example:
  For a given campaign over a given period an ad was displayed 1000 times and got 50 clicks.
   
CTR = 50 / 1000
    CTR = 0.05
    CTR = 5%

What is CPM?
CPM is a measurement of the cost of advertising impressions measured in units of a thousand.
CPM stands for cost per M, where M is the roman numeral for 1,000.

What is CPC?
CPC is cost per click, which can describe an average cost per click, or a specific cost per click.
The formula for cost per click is:
    CPC = cost / clicks
Example:
  For a given campaign over a given period an ad was clicked 50 times. The campaign cost $20.

    CPC = $20 / 50
    CPC = $0.40

What is ROI?
The SEO ROI Calculator measures the Return on Investment of organic web traffic generated from an SEO campaign.

What is RPC?
Revenue per click is defined as the ratio of the search revenue to the number of clicks.

Here some useful link of seo interview Questions
http://webservices.afreshpath.com/seo_interview.html
http://www.gorecroot.com/Questionpaper/seo.aspx
http://seo-question-answer.blogspot.com/

Monday, October 25, 2010

OFF PAGE SEO

Directory submissions

The most popular and important web directories are DMOZ and Yahoo! nothing like Google, that is a search engine, directories organize links under various categories and sub-categories. Appropriate to all the hype that search engines get most web masters fail to recognize the significance of submitting their links to Internet directories. Although very few people these days prefer to sift through the directory categories to find the links they want, search engines use these web directories as potent referral systems and there is a reason behind it.

An additional advantage of getting your link included in web directories is that your link is indexed by the search engines quickly. The search engine crawlers crawl the Internet to find information on the recently updated or created links, and they start the crawling with the web directories and first crawl all those links present in the directory. in addition, whenever new search engines are launched, they automatically go through the Internet directories to quickly index the already-validated links. This saves you tons of time in submitting your links to various search engines.

Directory submissions one-way links

Search engines give importance to the number of inbound links to your site and from web directories you get one-way inbound links. Web directories, while including your links, don’t expect you to put their link on your website. Search engines discourage link-exchange tactics but they consider one-way inbound links with high regard.

Directory submissions anchor text  

When you submit your links to web directories they allow you to enter a site that can contain your keywords. This generates SEO anchor text for you and this helps you improve your search engine rankings.

Directory submissions are generally free

Yes, you don’t have to pay for most of the web directory submissions. There are some highly professional web directories that charge a high premium for adding your links but their number is miniscule compared to free directories.

Directory submissions send you targeted traffic

The organizations of web directories make people find the right links under the right categories. Even if you, inadvertently of course, submit your link under a wrong category, there is a great possibility that the human editor will place your link under the correct category.

Social bookmarking

Social bookmarking is one of the greatest acting SEO options currently accessible. We submit your website to social bookmarking sites such as digg, delicious, etc., helping you increase the word about your content. You'll normally get some traffic right off the bat from people interested in your site (and a lot extra if your site becomes popular on social networks). Within a week, most of these links will already start to have some effect on your rankings and within a month, very clear results can be seen from our social bookmarking service.
  • http://identi.ca/
  • http://friendfeed.com/
  • http://watwet.com/
  • http://offthemainroad.jaiku.com/
  • http://www.qaiku.com/
  • http://www.diigo.com/
  • http://www.bebo.com/
  • http://www.stumbleupon.com/
  • http://www.brazencareerist.com/
  • http://twitter.com/
Article Submission

Between each of  the SEO techniques, article submission can be one of the most successful. Article submission generally refers to the writing of articles that are related to your online business and then getting them added to the popular article submission directories.

The main purpose at the back article submission is to attract a large number of visitors  to your website without incur a great cost. Obviously, it is important to make sure that the articles you mean to submit are directly related or relevant to your business.

There are various profit of article submission including advertising, marketing and publicity of your business on the WWW.

Benefits of a press release :
  1. Article submissions can develop and improve the ranking of your online business in search engines by increasing the quantity of backlinks and PR.
  2. an additional benefit that article submission offers is that of establishing the particular website owner as an expert in their industry. By providing valuable detail and information within articles, it builds the trust of potential customers thereby giving them a reason to visit your website.
 Below are a few simple tips on writing an effective article submission:

During the process of article submission do not forget to consider below 5 key points. Following these points will meet the purpose of both i.e. your target audience and search engines.
  • Articles should be original and information rich.
  • Articles should be keyword rich but not excessive to the point of keyword stuffing.
  • The average length of articles should be between 500 and 700.
  • Give a unique title to your article with main keyword into it so as to make it easy for web crawlers to identify and classify the topic of your article.
  • Giving subheadings, bullets and numberings to articles make it presentable and easy to read for potential customers.
Press Release submission

When should press release be used? Since a press release is a platform for you to connect with the people and media, you can use it when you have interesting announcements or offers to make or when you are launching something new in the market. For instance, you can use this medium when you are introducing a new product or service or when you are sponsoring some event.

Benefits of a press release
A press release offers you an opportunity of free publicity. If the editors of the sites to which you have submitted your press release consider it as attractive and newsworthy, they will publish it which means free publicity for your website. Press releases also help in increasing your search engine ranking because the more the number of links pointing to your website, the higher will be your ranking.A press release also creates an awareness of your presence in the minds of people.
Below are a few simple tips on writing an effective press release:
 
It should be newsworthy and interesting so that it can be of value to readers.



 
The press release should also be short so that it conveys your message in brief making it easier for a person to read. You should also avoid too much jargon and flowery language. It would be best to keep the language of your press release simple and plain.



 
Your press release must contain facts to gain credibility. You should avoid exaggeration as it will not help.



 
Finally, avoid addressing your target audience with direct terms like “you”, “I” etc, as it would appear more as an advertisement instead of a press release.
Classified Submission

Classifieds submission? Search Engine Promotion forum discuss tips and strategy to promote your web site with the search engines. Choose paid inclusion against. organic listings, the best search engines for high conversion

Classified advertising or classifieds ads is a means of advertising done online in newspapers websites and other online periodicals. Online newspaper ads or classified ad can be normally as free classified ads. The free classified ad sites allow the classified ad submitter to post classified ads or place classified ads. Classified free ads generally differs from standard advertising models where in that it allows private individuals, corporate entities and companies to endorse virtually any products and services. Classified ad sites give an opportunity to post free classified ads generally known as newspaper classified ads. There are small classifieds websites or classified sites with online classified advertising where an ad submitter gets opportunity to do local classified ads posting through free ad post classified.

Why classified Ads.

In Today world is updating itself day by day and people are looking for simple, safe and quick ways to access information with accuracy. for the reason that the Internet is the only quickest means to access the correct information they are turning themselves to the Internet to get help for their needs happy. Classified online ads advance effective means of exchanging information and expressing ideas, by offering subscribers the opportunity to access the ads posted by others and to post free classified ad on free classified sites web page. The information provided by online classifieds are well structured and accurate. All kinds of important information are easily accessible on classified ad sites. The option of posting free classified ad on the free classified ad sites is very common which is not possible in other standard means of advertising. Placing classified ads and classified submission is possible by classified ad software available on the site. There are free options available on the internet which can be found out with the terms flashing on the sites as ads to invite the submitter to place free classified ads or place classified ads.

ForumPosting:

A Website which invites one for release discussion on a particular focus or topic is called Forum. People are always ready to help and answer any questions that you may have in forums. When starting anything you need to make a hard effort and believe it will work, most people will not succeed because they are not patient and do not give it sufficient time do well, take it one day at a time and relax the people will come. People are also feeling that they have an identity, and putting it on the Web is a great way of expressing themselves.

Forums Posting can Help grow your business
In SEO forum important? Reason the Seo forums are main because it has an excellent way of receiving comments of Search Engine Optimization experts, who hold extensive knowledge and experience in Search Engine Optimization. These experts provide their comments on various Search engine Optimization related topics which provides better knowledge to the readers through their experience. in addition through forum the readers can also take part in discussion where they can throw their views and Ideas as well. This is also a useful method of promoting and marketing a business. This may help increased viewers and popularity of Website. SEO forums hold tremendous potential to help one website and prove to be a great tool for increasing back links to the site. These forums are very beneficial to business in a way it can expose its business to larger section of people, and also helps in receiving the business.

Forums are the Best ways to increase sales, reliability of your customers, also helps to bring in huge income to your business.

In today’s period forum are so very much popular that if you search anything on search engines such as Google and Yahoo, on top results you will find Forums link.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

ON PAGE SEO


Keyword Analysis:

The purpose of this tool is to assist webmasters and SEO consultants in performing keyword analysis. This activity, also known as keyword research, is an important step in the search engine optimization process. Specifically, this tool will, when given a URL, display the most frequently used keywords and keyphrases present in the document in question. This tool can help you improve search engine placement by identifying niche keywords and keyphrases that apply to your content. These keywords and phrases can then be used as search terms in a pay-per-click (PPC) search engine advertising campaign. For more information on this subject, you can read more info...


Competitive Analysis:

Have you ever wondered how a particular competitor always does so much better than you do in the search engines or online overall? A competitor analysis is one very effective method of deconstructing their online marketing strategy to discover how they are doing so well. more info...


Keyword density:

Keyword density is important because search engines use this information to categorize a site's theme, and to determine which terms the site is relevant to. The perfect keyword density will help achieve higher search engine positions. Keyword density needs to be balanced correctly (too low and you will not get the optimum benefit, too high and your page might get flagged for “keyword spamming”). more info...



Why validation ?

This document attempts to answer the questions many people have regarding why they should bother with Validating their web sites and tries to dispel a few common myths. more info...

Robots.txt

When a search engine crawler comes to your site, it will look for a special file on your site. That file is called robots.txt and it tells the search engine spider, which Web pages of your site should be indexed and which Web pages should be ignored. more info...


SEO Copywriting

SEO Copywriting, or to give it its full name, search engine optimization copywriting or search engine copywriting, is the technique of writing the viewable text on a web page in such a way that it reads well for the surfer, and also targets specific search terms. Its purpose is to rank highly in the search engines for the targeted search terms.

As well as the viewable text, SEO Copywriting usually optimizes other on-page elements for the targeted search terms. These include the Title, Description and Keywords tags, headings and alt text. more info...