Thursday, October 28, 2010

SEO Questions

What is an SEO, SEM and how important are they for an organization? Explain briefly.
SEO stands for search engine optimisation (or optimization if you're from the States). In its simplest form SEO is the process of tailoring a website (text, titles, meta tags, alt tags, etc) so that the search engines will assign a good rank to the site for specific search terms.
But with the advent of search engines introducing fees for guaranteed inclusion in their indices, directories charging for reviews and the emergence of PPC listings, SEO now has an element of media buying mixed in. Thus, thanks to Danny Sullivan, it has now been called search engine marketing or SEM (you can still call it SEO if you want).
What do you mean by SEO?
It is a process of choosing targeted keywords and keyword phrases related to a web site so the site will rank high. And it is also marketing technique of preparing a website to enhance its chances of being ranked in the top results of a search engine once a relevant search is undertaken.
What is link Building
Link Building is the process of creating inbound links to ones own website. This can be done by reciprocal links, being listed in e-zines, newsletters, directories, search engines, etc. Link building is one of the best ways to make your site popular. There are few types of linking one of which is reciprocal links.
There are many advantages of link building.
1. Link building helps in getting quality traffic from relevant sites which increases sales.
2. Also when there will be high quality incoming links the site will also be seen as a valuable resource.
3. Link building helps in creating awarness, visibility and credibility of your site.
4. The site also obtains wider search engine exposure.
5. It also helps the website get indexed by search engines
What is Links?
In the anchortext -this is the text used to link to another URL (page or website), we use as much as possible the keywords of the page we are referring to. If possible, simply use the title of that page. Make sure that the page you are referring to contains the words that you're using in the anchor text.
Make your links meaningfull !
If you're linking from an image, then you should absolutely use the ALT tag. It always very wise to have an additional link in readable text.
Broken links should be avoided and only link to an external website if that one contains additional content or when it is usefull for your visitors.
What is TITLE tag?
The title tag is very important for a top search engine position so it deserves special attention for SEO optimization.
This tag is part of the head section of a page and will typically appear like this :
<head>
<title>your title</title>
<meta name="Description" content="your description">
</head>
Use your keyword, without repeating it over and over again, in the title tag on the indexpage and also on all other pages of your website.
Every page should have its own title that says exactly what the page is about. There is no need to include a company name. Should you include that name anyway -maybe because you like your name-, then put it at the very end of the title.
Write no more than 60 characters for this is the maximum number of characters that will be shown by Google in the returned search engine results.
The title tag must be meaningfull because it will feature in almost all search engine results. Even when you can be found at a top search engine position, your title must still be inviting to click on it and enter your Web page.
What is Meta description?
This one is also part of the head section of a page and will look like this :
<head>
<title>your title</title>
<meta name="Description" content="your description">
</head>
When looking at the source of a page, nobody will see the contents of the Meta description tag.
Still, this one deserves special attention because the description will often appear underneath the title in the search engine results.
Together with the title, it must attract visitors to click through towards your website.
Be brief, thourough and correct, and use your keyword in the description.
Concerning your homepage, a well written title and description can be used for the directory and search engine submission of a Web site.
What is Headers and subtitles <H1>,<H2>...?
The H1 and H2 tags are meant to be used as the header of the page or paragraphs. Use them for this !
The H1 tag should be the first header within the body section of your page.
Include your keyword in this tag too. The H1 tag should tell short and briefly, just like the page title, what your page is about. The contents of the title meta tag can be repeated here.
Personally, i seldom use the H2 en H3 tag and i'm in favour of other textual aspects to highlight subtitles, especially the <B> and the <FONT> tag.
Should you use the H2 tag however, then use it the right way :
• a H2 tag should follow a H1 tag.
• The tags have a larger font size to highlight the text they include. Avoid spam and keep this larger font !
What are Eye catching text effects?
By using tags such as
• <B> : bold
• <I> : Italic
• <STRONG>
• <FONT> : - especially <FONT SIZE="+n"> where n is a integer
we can point our visitors to important parts of text, and yes, search engine robots will notice this too !
Don't exagerate ! When using a bold font on almost every part of text on your page, then this will loose its eye catching effect.
Don't use these tags just to highlight your keywords. Optimize your page for your visitors. If you highlight your keyword because it might be interesting for your visitors, then this is certainly a good thing. However, doing so only for the search engines is not a good idea.
What are ALT tags?
Alt tags appear with images. This will look like this :
<img src="imagename.jpg" alt="description of the image">
The description as it appears in the ALT tag, is only visible when someone holds his mousepointer upon the image, and also when the visitor uses an images disabled browser.
So, the ALT tags are used by both a visitors and a search engine. The contents of an image can never be seen by a search engine, so we should provide alternative content.
Don't try to be deceptive when writing the content of the ALT tag and be precise. When you make your web page look more attractive by adding an image or a photo, then try to include a perfect image with an additional value to your page content. Doing so will most likely give you the opportunity to include your keyword within the description.
Should you use the image to put a link to another page, then you should use the ALT tag as if it were the anchor text of a text link.
Above you could already see how anchortext can help you to achieve a top search engine position.
What is RSS
RSS is a syndication methodology on the Internet.
1 RSS Stands for Really Simple Syndication.
2 RSS is used for the specific purpose or conveying information that a website or blog has been updated.
3 RSS is a standard for publishing regular updates to web-based content.
4 And for the technical, RSS is a Syndication Standard based on a type of XML file that resides on an internet server.
How Benefit of Creation of a sitemap?
We make sure that every page is maximum 2 clicks away of the entry page.
If you have deep content pages, categories, products, sub products, then a sitemap should be provided.
A sitemap is usefull for both search engines and visitors.
The number of links on a page must be limited to 100 !
What is PPC?
Ans:- Pay per click (PPC) is an Internet advertising model used on search engines, advertising networks, and content websites, such as blogs, where advertisers only pay when a user actually clicks on an advertisement to visit the advertisers' website.
What is meta tag?
Ans:- An HTML tag that identifies the contents of a Web page for the search engines. Meta tags are hidden on the page, but they, as well as all the HTML code on a page, can be viewed by selecting View/Source or View/Page Source from the browser menu. Meta tags contain a general description of the page, keywords and copyright information.
What is FTP?
Ans:- A communications protocol governing the transfer of files from one computer to another over a network.
What do you mean by Keyword density?
The ratio of the number of occurrences of a particular keyword or phrase to the total number of words in a page.
What is Keyword prominence?
How prominently keywords appear in the text of a web page. Title tags, headers, the beginning of paragraphs and hyperlinks, are just some of the places keywords should appear prominently.
What is the importance of tags?
There are six levels of headings in HTML. H1 tag is one of them and search engine spider only recognizing H1 tag.
What do you mean by page rank (PR)?
Page Rank is Goggle’s ranking software that calculates the relevance of a webpage to the search keywords entered. Google measures ranking on a scale of 0 to10.
What is a spider?
A component of a search engine that roams the Web, storing the URLs and indexing the keywords and text of each page encountered. Also referred to as a robot or crawler.
What do you mean by URL?
An acronym for "Uniform Resource Locator," this is the address of a resource on the Internet.
What is SERP’s?
It is search engine result page retrieved by search engine based on specific keyword.
What is a Mirror site?
A Web site that is a replica of an already existing site, used to reduce network traffic (hits on a server) or improve the availability of the original site. Mirror sites are useful when the original site generates too much traffic for a single server to support. Mirror sites also increase the speed with which files or Web sites can be accessed: users can download files more quickly from a server that is geographically closer to them.
What is the difference between Black hat Optimization and White hat Optimization?
The difference between black hat optimization and white hat optimization is one using unfair technique and the other one using fair technique. Black hat optimization use unethical and illegal technique and white hat optimization use fair technique to get higher search engine ranking.
What do you mean by Scooter?
AltaVista search engine’s spider.
What is Sidewinder?
The name of the Infoseek search engine’s spider.
What do you mean by Skewing?
A technique used by search engines. It refers to the practice of artificially altering the search results to certain documents will score well on certain queries.
What do you mean by Spamming?
1. Sending of unsolicited bulk electronic mail
2. Hidden text.
3. Stuffing pages, graphic images, etc. with irrelevant words.
4. Doorway pages, multiple domains or sub domains with essentially the same content.
5. Cloaking.
6. Linking to bad neighborhoods.
What is SSI?
A type of HTML command that allows webmasters to insert code from an outside HTML document. It is especially used with things like menus, headers and footers that are the same for all pages.
What is Stemming?
The use of linguistic analysis to get to the root form of a word. It reduce a search query to its stem or root form, such as past tense and plural and singular usage are taken into account when performing a search learn, it will bring learn, learning, learned etc.
What is a Stop Word?
Search engines and directories ignore certain "stop words" like single letter, two-letter and three-letter words (a, the, of, and, but). These common words do not contribute to relevancy and are not recognized in a query.
What is a Unique Visitor?
A real visitor to a Website. Web servers record the IP addresses of each visitor, and this is used to determine the number of real people who have visited a Web site. If someone visits twenty pages within your site, the server will count only one unique visitor and twenty page accesses.
What is a Virtual Server?
When a domain is hosted on a virtual server, it means that it shares that server with other domains.
What do you mean by Proximity Searching?
A feature that allows searchers to search for words that are near each other in a document.
What is CTR?
CTR stands for click thru rate, which is a percentage representing how often an ad is clicked relative to how many times it has been displayed.
The formula for click thru rate is:
    CTR = # of clicks / # of exposures
Example:
  For a given campaign over a given period an ad was displayed 1000 times and got 50 clicks.
   
CTR = 50 / 1000
    CTR = 0.05
    CTR = 5%

What is CPM?
CPM is a measurement of the cost of advertising impressions measured in units of a thousand.
CPM stands for cost per M, where M is the roman numeral for 1,000.

What is CPC?
CPC is cost per click, which can describe an average cost per click, or a specific cost per click.
The formula for cost per click is:
    CPC = cost / clicks
Example:
  For a given campaign over a given period an ad was clicked 50 times. The campaign cost $20.

    CPC = $20 / 50
    CPC = $0.40

What is ROI?
The SEO ROI Calculator measures the Return on Investment of organic web traffic generated from an SEO campaign.

What is RPC?
Revenue per click is defined as the ratio of the search revenue to the number of clicks.

Here some useful link of seo interview Questions
http://webservices.afreshpath.com/seo_interview.html
http://www.gorecroot.com/Questionpaper/seo.aspx
http://seo-question-answer.blogspot.com/

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